



www.elsevier.com/locate/resuscitation

Appendix 2: Previous ''giants'' honorees

International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation

The American Heart Association began the tradition of honoring ''giants'' in resuscitation science at the 1985 conference establishing new resuscitation guidelines. ILCOR joined this tradition in 2000. ''Giants'' honorees are selected based on ongoing landmark contributions to cardiopulmonary resuscitation and emergency cardiovascular care in general; authorship of books, articles, and education and teaching materials in the field of emergency cardiovascular care; national and international recognition for their contributions to the field; and development of innovative technological and scientific breakthroughs. The 2005 Honorees are listed in the front of this supplement. Past honorees are listed here:

1985

James Elam, MD Archer Gordon, MD James Jude, MD Guy Knickerbocker, PhD Peter Safar, MD

1992

Stephen Carveth, MD Leonard Cobb, MD Frank Pantridge, MD Joseph Redding, MD Paul Zoll, MD

2000

Douglas Chamberlain, MD Leon Chameides, MD Mickey Eisenberg, MD, PhD Gordon Ewy, MD Laerdal Foundation represented by Tore Laerdal Richard Kerber, MD William Montgomery, MD Joseph Ornato, MD Leonard Scherlis, MD Max Harry Weil, MD, PhD.